Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
About the "New Player Test"
Thorny Offline

About the "New Player Test"

Everyone who plays here knows about the test that new players need to complete in order to play on heRO.

There is an NPC at the novice starting area which subjects you to a completely brutal, long-winded rant about server rules. This would not be so bad, as I personally have great respect for the rules which govern each server (and because I have a degree of common sense), but the GMs/Devs/Owners of the server have decreed that anyone who wants to play has to answer a completely unforgiving test on the rules which have just been shoved down our throats.

I say unforgiving because there is absolutely ZERO room for error, and because there are a number of questions which seem to be written incorrectly. For example there is at least one question where you are presented with a two exact same answer options in the list, but one of them is wrong - particularly frustrating because on my first run through the test this happened to be the final question that needed to be answered correctly in order to pass. I chose one of the two exact same answers, and was informed that my response was incorrect, thus immediately failing me from the test, and forcing me to start over.

There are also questions which seem to have little or no relevance to the casual player - questions relating to WoE (which I do not personally participate in), questions about personal opinion (where if you do not share the same opinion of the NPC scriptor you are deemed unworthy of playing on the server), and questions where there has obviously been no thought given to grammar or syntax.